Skip to content
December 8, 2011 / adgerellis

CHILD DEVELOPMENT AND ADULT PERSONALITY. ME!

THIRD GRADE IN ELEMENTARY  SCHOOL:   When I was approximate 7 or 8 years old I came down with almost every common childhood sickness that a young person could get. In the same year I got the Mumps, Measles, Whooping Cough, Chickenpox and Scarlet Fever and a bee sting on my foot. I was in bed sick for almost a full year. To cure myself, remember I was 7 or 8 years old, I took nearly a full bottle of aspirin, went into a coma and nearly killed myself! Ha! Ha! How much does a kid know! Anyway, the year was something like 1947 and there was no television, only radio. My mother had the radio on in the kitchen and was set on Radio Station WOR broadcast out of New York City. The day began with, “The John Gambling Show (Senior),” then in the year 1945, “Dorothy (Kilgallen) and  Dick (Kollmar) a husband and wife breakfast  talk show..

Breakfast with Dorothy & Dick (Dorothy Kilgallen & Dick Kollmar Dorothy’s husband, Dick Kollmar, produced Broadway shows, ran a small art gallery, and was an actor in many radio shows, starring as Boston Blackie in a http://www.otrcat.com/breakfast-with-dorothy-dick-dorothy-kilgallen-dick-kollmar-p-49170.html. I can’t remember what came next, but sometime the “Hartz Mountains,” singing canaries show came on. I hope you enjoy this recording from the year 1950’s of the “Singing Canaries,” from the internet. This will give you an idea of what the show was like. I mean, how clever can singing birds be? It was very funny back in 1946, even sick in bed. I laughed so hard, I almost fell out of bed…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOR3E4FT9S4….Some time another radio station would be left on. Maybe, from night-time listen, so in the morning “Don McNeil’s Breakfast  Club” would be on. The following is a television “clip” from the show that I never saw, but the radio was the same, without the pictures…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwQgYv7sk1Q.  “Wendy Barrie and the News” came on at 12:00 o’clock noon. There does not seem to be a sound recording of Wendy Barries reading the news, but she did have a television show to give you some idea of her personality…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf_P-IZy7YQ&feature=related. Then somewhere in time, was another female radio personality, her name, Mary Margaret McBride  interview 1957…http://www.c-spanvideo.org/program/Ma&showFullAbstract=1. The “back-story,” now remember what this blog is about, “Child Development  And Adult Personality,” is, I remember being told that she (=Mary Margaret McBirde,) got fired for using the word “pregnant,” on the radio. I don’t know if that is true, but here is the point. The “language police,” those self-rightous, sanctimonious fools will destroy people’s lives just to satisfy their fear of words. As if words had physical power to hurt, and in any case the words that the “social prigs” choose are standard English words. I think that you will find that many, certainly not all, but many of the self-appointed “language police,” are immature with a limited vocabulary. The problem is a psychotic disconnect in the prude’s mind, a maladjustment in their understanding, because they think a word in common speech has on “odors” meaning. I’ve posted in this blog gross misunderstanding of what I have said. This definitely effects personality development! Whether the story is true or not, I don’t know. I have “couched” disclaimers all over my blogs about rumors, hearsay, and gossip. Please, don’t drift-off into your own fantasy. Don’t listen to those sub-lingual voices in your head. I’m not out to get anyone. This is only about social-development in children and adults, not “character assassination,” or slander.

Leave a Reply

